Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sports Events/News

Wheelchair Cricket India Association takes PM Modi’s #Cheer4India to next level, Includes Para- Athletes

Only a few days to go for the much-awaited Tokyo Olympics 2020 to start. A contingent of 88 members, which includes 54 athletes besides support staff and IOA representatives had already departed for the Tokyo Games, which will begin in a week’s time on July 23.

To increase the morale and encourage the Indian contingent at the Tokyo Olympics, #Cheer4India campaign has been launched across the country by the Indian Railways and the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The campaign is extensively taken over as words of encouragement were sent by big sports names like Virat Kholi, Rohit Sharma along with the pouring nationwide support.

Not just that, the campaign has the active participation of the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, who is encouraging countrymen to extend support and message in regards to the Indian Olympic Contingent. Following the request of the PM, many ministries, education institutes are taking the initiative of installing a selfie point and encouraging people and students to record messages. 

However, the Wheelchair Cricket India Association took the #Cheer4India campaign to next level. In the latest video, posted from the official handle of the Wheelchair Cricket India Association, the team not only encouraged the Indian Squad of Olympics but the Paralympics as well. The 2020 Tokyo Paralympics will begin on 24 August 2021(Tuesday) and end on 5 September 2021 (Sunday).

The question which predominantly arises here is why nobody ahead of the Indian Wheelchair Cricket Association thought of it? Why the #cheer4india campaign sidelined the Paralympics? Will there be a similar campaign for them next month with the same enthusiasm and initiatives by ministers and sports biggies? For that, we will have to wait, however, the #cheer4India could have been cumulative efforts for Mission Tokyo 2020 incorporating both athletes and para-athletes.

President of Paralympic Committee of India, Deepa Malik and WCIA CEO Sqn Ldr Abhai Pratap Singh (Retd.), Gen. Secretary Pradeep Raj WCIA and Indian Wheelchair Cricketers amongst others are campaigning extensively to raise awareness about soon to begin Tokyo Paralympics. In their efforts, they have sent words of encouragement to both the Indian athletes and Para-athletes.

The Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) has announced a 24-member athletics team to represent India at Tokyo Paralympic 2020.

The Team

Men: Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh and Sundar Singh Gurjar (all javelin F-46), Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (both javelin F-64), Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar and Varun Singh Bhatti (all high jump T-63), Amit Kumar and Dharambir (both club throw F-51), Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (both high jump T-47), Sonam Rana (shot put F-57), Navdeep (javelin F-41), Praveen Kumar (high jump T-64), Yogesh Kathuniya (discus throw F-56), Vinod Kumar (discus throw F-56), Ranjeet Bhati (javelin F-57), Arvind (shot put F-35), Tek Chand (javelin F-54).

Women: Ekta Bhyan and Kashish Lakra (both club throw F-51), Bhagyashri Jadhav (shot put F-34), Simran (100m T-13).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our Newsletter

You May Also Like


Naomi Campbell, Holy Trinity, Claudia are models that come to our mind whenever the topic of 90’s supermodel comes. Of course, they are the...

Whats Trending

It is rightly said, not all superheroes wear a cape, and the superhero I am talking about is an inspiration to many in numerous...

Whats Trending

Evoking the memories of the movement of the 1970s where women formed unprecedented resistance against tyranny by “hugging trees to protect them from being...


For the longest time in history, women are bounded with prejudice, and unfortunately, they still are. But there are women like Dr Richa who...

Font Resize